Friday , December 4 2020

Why do gamers want “Stage Nails”? / Article /

The annual award at the Night Theater of Players in 2020 will be held for the 27th time. Since 1998, “Players’ Night” no longer evaluates the best performances and individual achievements in one year, but in one season, but since 1999, the award ceremony has been held on November 23 – the birthday of director Eduard Sminis.

Alphabet of culture

LTV “Kultūrdevas” ABC explains the significant history and significance of Latvian cultural facts.

“Gamblers”, included in the title of the award, echoes the legendary play “Let’s play, gamblers!”, Staged at the Youth Theater in 1972, which was created on the poetic composition of Alexander Peters and.

The number of nominations varies slightly from year to year: in 2020, the awards will be presented in 18 nominations. Although different jury models have been tested (for example, a two-tier system where candidates are selected by one member of the jury and the winners by others), in recent years the nominations and winners have been determined by a professional jury of five. During the season, the jury members were lucky enough to see more than 100 new productions in state, municipal and independent professional theaters, nominating from three to five nominees in each award category.

The award for life’s contribution to theatrical art is also presented annually. The jury has the right to award a special prize for special achievements that do not fall into any of the nomination categories.

The “Players’ Night” award is called “Stage Nail” and was created by metalhead Huris Gagainis, depicting the floorboards of the stage, from which the nail is pulled out like a sprout. In the background of the nail sprout is a triangular mirror as a symbol of the Holy Trinity.

Nails are special for theater people because of the belief that finding a nail on stage brings happiness to everyone, but it certainly brings the actor a new beginning – a new role and a new opportunity to express themselves.

Every year before the ceremony there is a screening of nominated productions, in which a foreign jury reviews specially selected performances, as well as a scientific conference on the topic related to the last theatrical season. In 2020, experts from Estonia awarded the prize of Walter Silis’ play “The Boy Who Saw in the Dark.”

The first “Night of the Players” ceremony took place in 1994 in the Riga House of the Latvian Society, but today the ceremony takes place every year in one of the “big” theaters.

“Players ‘Night” is organized by the Latvian Theater Workers’ Union, and the annual ceremony is created by other theater artists – for example, the 2019 ceremony was entrusted to director and actress Maria Berzins and actor and playwright Arturs Ditsis. In 2019, Elmar Senkov’s play “Blow, Winds” triumphed on “Players’ Night”, but in 2020 the play “The Boy Who Saw in the Dark” received the largest number of nominations – nine in total – at the National Theater, which is also open. leader among theaters in the number of nominations. earnings on the assessment of 27 times. The award ceremony can be watched live on Latvian television and the portal, as well as on Latvian radio.

An error in the article?

Highlight the text and press Ctrl + Entersend text for editing!

Highlight the text and press Report an error buttons to send text for editing!

Source link